Workspace/EE-CoP-Meeting 2006

From WaterWiki.net

Jump to: navigation, search
This is the workspace for the Energy & Environment CoP (Community of Practice) meeting for Europe & CIS 2006 
Please feel free to make your contribution below! (Bratislava E&E Team)


Contents

Objectives

The Energy and Environment Community of Practice (COP) has been formed in 2004 (CoP-workshop in Bratislava and GEF training in Almaty). In fall 2005, another CoP-meeting has been orgnaized in Bratislava, where UNDP Environmental Focal Points from Country Offices and the Regional Center exchanged information about newest developments, and discussed (and reinforced) the benefits of knowledge sharing, as well as the need for appropriate tools and products to do so.

A clear need has been expressed to continue to organize CoP-meetings on a yearly basis, for the purpose of updating each other on newest development, learning from and exchanging of colleagues' experience, and targeted training on focused topics, as appropriate. (see also workshop report 2005 in the Annex).


Expected Outcomes

  • UNDP/RBEC Env. Focal Points in Europe & CIS are up to date on the newest developments, requirements and guidance regarding GEF- (GEF RAF, new GEF council and CEO, etc.) and non-GEF (new regional programming procedures, ...) programming
  • UNDP/RBEC Env. Focal Points in Europe & CIS are aware of opportunities / emerging priorities for resource mobilization, programming (national and regional level), especially in view of the new EU funding mechanisms in their respected country context and relevant focus / sub-practice areas
  • UNDP/RBEC Env. Focal Points in Europe & CIS have exchanged cutting-edge knowledge, and learned from each others experience in project priority setting, identification and development; CO and regional programming; collaboration with internal (UNDP) and external practitioners in regional projects;
  • Clarity among UNDP/RBEC Environmental Practitioners about potential knowledge management and regional networking initiatives, with special focus on opportunities for strengthened cooperation among COs, and between COs and the Bratislava's Energy and Environment practice (incl. BRC CO-support services);
  • Successful participation of UNDP/RBEC and RBAS Env. Practitioners in Water Knowledge-Fair...
  • Selected UNDP/RBEC Env. Focal Points are trained in Carbon Sequencing and Finance aspects...
  • ...



Approach

Very short, succint, to-the-point presentations with main emphasis on discussions

Less BRC presentations, more CO-colleagues contributions; less theory, more case studies

Ample time for informal and bilateral exchange in between sessions (this was a strong feedback from last year's CoP-meeting!)

ADD HERE



Modules

GEF-briefing (& crash course)

Timing
1/2 day
Items
New CEO / new GEF-direction(s); August Council; draft IW (other?) programming guide;
Presenter
BRC colleagues (...)


Why this is relevant for YOU

ADD TEXT HERE


Discussion/Remarks

  • Several COs expressed interest in a training in project development/logframe/M&E requirements/new GEF approach (Adriana / Vladimir Mamaev)
  • --> Could this be extended as training (incl. logframe, PID, etc.) to 1 day? (Juerg.staudenmann 10:08, 9 May 2006 (CEST))



Management Modality / CO-role in regional projects/programming

Timing
1/2 day
Items 
CO-role in management (deveoping, implementing, executing) of regional projects; changed procedures; project indetification & development (GEF, non-GEF); recognition/re-imbursement for resource mobilisation and services; "delivery figures" to be accounted to CO/RRs?; ...
Presenter 
Andrey Pogrebniak; possibly Ben?


Why this is relevant for YOU

ADD TEXT HERE


Discussion/Remarks

  • Range of options for management of such projects; Pros and cons of each option for Regional Centre and COs; what has regional centre to offer and what can country offices offer; Implicatons and reflection of each option in for example: ToRs of regional managers (us) and national environmental focal points; share in project direct financing and joint resource mobilization, etc; The modality: presentation on options by e.g. Andrey Pogrebnyak (if he agrees) and facilitated discussion of all participants; It is the sensitive isue and not easy to resolve and though each project can have specific management modality we should start discussing options on such foras rather than on individual basis; (Henrieta)



Resource Mobilization / EU funding mechanisms - sources, opportunities, UNDP eligibity

Timing
1/2 day - 1 day (if combined with NEXT MODULE on Reg. Programming )
Items 
ADD TEXT HERE
Presenter 
Invite someone from DG ENV., AIDCO or similar!


Why this is relevant for YOU

ADD TEXT HERE


Discussion/Remarks

  • Could be complemented by the general discussion on fund raising for regional programmes - sources, mechanisms, CO support for regional fund raising (Inkar Kadyrzhanova)



Community mobilization for natural resources management

Timing
PLEASE FILL IN
Items 
ADD TEXT HERE
Presenter 
ADD TEXT HERE


Why this is relevant for YOU

ADD TEXT HERE


Discussion/Remarks

  • Two projects - Prespa and Beloweza - are coming to an end this year; the results and lessons are very interested and should not be lost. Discussion on importance and impact of ground-level work with the CBOs. The regional SLM project in Central Asia focuses on this level of intervention as well and could also join the group. (Inkar.kadyrzhanova)
  • --> To add to this: presentation on small grants schemes application to support local agrotourism providers can be arranged, presenting successful experience from Poland and Belarus (Bialoweza project result) (Henrieta)



Water Knowledge-Fair / HDR 2006 Launch (Water & Poverty)

see also Workspace/Water-K-Fair for details

Timing
1 day
Items 
Focus-group and/or interactive discussions; Appraisal of knowledge products; awards ceremony; ..?
Presenter
ADD TEXT HERE


Why this is relevant for YOU

ADD TEXT HERE


Discussion/Remarks

  1. HDR 2006 (on "Water & Poverty") will be launched in Nov. 06; HDRO has shown interest in linking the launch in Europe & CIS with a knowledge management related event;
  2. BRC (KM Team, Comm.-team, Water sub-practice), together with RBAS, are developing the concept of a virtual Water Knowledge-Fair for Oct/Nov 2006;
Both of the above could be linked together and with the planned E&E CoP-meeting. This could be a significant opportunity for CoP mobilization, focused training or discussions around water governance, enhanced WG programming, networking with external practitioners and partners (e.g. virtually taking part in the event), etc. (Juerg.staudenmann 09:58, 3 May 2006 (CEST))

--> Exact module content to be determined, based on the development of the virtual Water K-Fair project



Knowledge management and communication

Timing
1/2 day (e.g. strating day)
Items
New structure of the RBEC website (if already finalized); Roles and responsibilities (of BRC and COs): Who uploads information and where?; Different spaces (within UNDP) for info uploading information (web site, email lists, Wikis, Databases); different newsletters and modalities of updating each others
Presenter
Dessislava Raykova; Comm-Unit BRC;


Why this is relevant for YOU

ADD TEXT HERE


Discussion/Remarks

  • The topic can be presented by someone from Communcation Unit. (Henrieta)



Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) in Development Assistance

Timing
1/2 day
Items 
ADD TEXT HERE
Presenter 
Henrieta Martonakova; other(s)?


Why this is relevant for YOU

ADD TEXT HERE


Discussion/Remarks

  • Introduction of the new OECD/DAC Good Practice Guidance on Applying SEA in Development Cooperation, developed by major international organizations incl. UNDP, and its implications on further development assistance; Options of SEA application in our region: (a) as SEA capacity development stand alone projects) and (b) incorporation of SEA to mainstream environment into other (environment and energy related; but not only) projects; e.g. projects assisting the country with national/sub-national strategies development (e.g. on renewable energy utilization); etc;

Modality: A few presentations or training (depending on the demand expressed and time availabilty); (Henrieta Martonakova)



UNDP contribution to the Belgrade 'Environment for Europe' conference (Fall 2007)

Timing
1/3 day
Items 
form of our contribution (UNDP side event, exhibition, publications); topics/highlights to be presented; coordination between Bratislava Regional Center and Country Offices; etc;
Presenter
discussion facilitated by ([Juerg/Henrieta/Milada]) + CoP discussion
Why this is relevant for YOU

The regional conference provides a graet opportunity to show what we (regioanl centre and country offices) do, to share our knowledge and experience.

Discussion/Remarks UNDP is involved in the preparation of the Belgrade conference, mainly through supporting OECD with preparation of the assessment report of the EECCA Strategy implementation. Beside that we should start thinking and discussing what would be the best way of presenting what we do both at national and regional level. As mentioned we should discuss what to present and how to present it.


TRAINING-Module: Adaptation

Timing
1 day
Items 
ADD TEXT HERE
Presenter 
ADD TEXT HERE


Why this is relevant for YOU

ADD TEXT HERE


Discussion/Remarks

  • ADD MORE TEXT HERE



TRAINING-Module Carbon Finance

Timing
5 days - back-to-back with CoP-workshop (separate entity)
Items 
ADD TEXT HERE
Presenter
ADD TEXT HERE


Why this is relevant for YOU

ADD TEXT HERE


Discussion/Remarks

  • This 5-day training module could be offered seperatly, yet back-to-back to the CoP-meeting. probably only selected CO-EFPs to take part



Logistics

Date, Location

BRAINSTORMING: ADD YOUR VOICE BELOW!!

Bratislava
PRO:
CONTRA:


Russia (Moscow)
PRO: "In the field"; Russia as emerging E&E star (Carbon Financing et al.);
CONTRA: High DSA/Costs


Hungary
PRO: Close to Bratislava
CONTRA:


OTHER PLACE



List of Participants

Bratislava

INVITED
Adriana Dinu; Anna Kaplina; Dagmar Pfeiferova; Geordie Colville; Henrieta Martonakova; Inkar Kadyrzhanova; Juerg Staudenmann; Keti Chachibaia; Marina Olshanskaya; Milada Sladkova; Nadezda Liscakova; Peter Beljak; Peter Svedberg; Vladimir Litvak; Vladimir Mamaev; Dessislava Raykova

CO E&E Focal Points

Albania :
Arian Gace (arian.gace@undp.org), GEF-SGP National Coordinator
Irena Dule (irena.dule@undp.org), ??
Armenia
Armen Martirosyan (armen.martirosyan@undp.org), Environment Governance Portfolio Coordinator / EFP
Georgi Arzumanyan (georgi.arzumanyan@undp.org), Sustainable Development Programme Manager (Environmental Governance Portfolio)
Azerbaijan
Jamila Ibrahimova (mailto:jamila.ibrahimova@undp.org), Senior Programme Analyst / EFP
Belarus
Dmitry Goloubovsky (mailto:dmitry.goloubovsky@undp.org), Program Officer / EFP
Alexander Levchenko (alexander.levchenko@undp.org), GEF-SGP National Coordinator
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Goran Vukmir (mailto:goran.vukmir@undp.ba), Environment Portfolio Manager / EFP
Bulgaria
Maxim Vergeichik (mailto:maxim.vergeichik@undp.org), Program Analyst / EFP
Veleslava Abadzhieva (veleslava@time-foundation.org), GEF-SGP National Coordinator
Croatia
Sandra Balent (mailto:sandra.balent@undp.org), Environmental Programme Officer / EFP
Dunja Fadljevic (mailto:dunja.fadljevic@undp.org), Environmental Programme Assistant / EFP
Cyprus
Nicolas Jarraud (Nicolas.Jarraud@undp.org), Environmental Compliance Officer/ EFP
Czech Republic/Hungary/Slovakia/Malta/St Helena
Klara Tothova (klara.tothova@undp.org), Programme Officer / EFP
Georgia
Kazakhstan
Natalya Panchenko (natalya.panchenko@undp.org), Programme Officer / EFP
Stanislav Kim (stanislav.kim@undp.org), GEF-SGP National Coordinator
Olga Klimanova (olga.klimanova@undp.org), Program Coordinator
Kosovo
Sonja Varga (sonja.varga@undp.org), EFP
Kyrgyzstan
Zharas Takenov (zt@undp.kg), Programme Officer / EFP
Muratbek Koshoev (geflife@elcat.kg), GEF-SGP National Coordinator
Latvia
Silvija Kalnins (silvija.kalnins@undp.org), Programme Officer / EFP
Lithuania
Neda Leonaviciute (neda.leonaviciute@undp.org), GEF-SGP National Coordinator
FYR Macedonia
Anita Kodzoman (anita.kodzoman@undp.org), Programme Analyst / EFP
Zlatko Samardziev (zlatko.samardziev@undp.org), GEF-SGP National Coordinator
Moldova
Margareta Petrusevschi (margareta.petrusevschi@undp.org), Programme Officer / EFP
Poland
Przemek Czajkowski (przemek.czajkowski@undp.org), GEF-SGP National Coordinator
Romania
Roxana Suciu (roxana.suciu@undp.org), Head of Energy&Environment Section a.i.
Mihaela Dupleac (mihaela.dupleac@undp.org), GEF-SGP National Coordinator
Russia
Irina Bredneva (irina.bredneva@undp.org), Programme Assistant / EFP
Elena Armand (elena.armand@undp.org), GEF Programme Officer
Nataly Olofinskaya (nataly.olofinskaya@undp.org), GEF Programme Officer
Serbia and Montenegro
Christina Hansson (christina.hansson@undp.org), Programme Officer / EFP
Paola Pagliani (paola.pagliani@undp.org), Policy Specialist
Tajikistan
Sukhrob Khoshmukhamedov (sukhrob.khoshmukhamedov@undp.org), Programme Officer / EFP
Cheickna Diawara (cheickna.diawara@undp.org), Water Governance Expert
Turkey
Katalin Zaim (katalin.zaim@undp.org), Programme Manager / EFP
Hansin Dogan ([1]), Istanbul Programme Manager
Turkmenistan
Rovshen Nurmukhamedov (rovshen.nurmuhamedov@undp.org), Programme Officer / EFP
Ukraine
Sergei Volkov (sergei.volkov@undp.org), Senior Programme Manager / EFP
Sascha Graumann (sascha.graumann@undp.org), International Programme Coordinator of the Crimea Integration and Development Programme
Uzbekistan
Alexey Volkov (alexey.volkov@undp.org), National GEF Advisor
Anvar Nasritdinov (anvar.nasritdinov@undp.org), Head of E&E Unit

Others

Iran
Farzaneh Derakhshi (farzaneh.derakhshi@undp.org), Environmental Focal Point



Materials

Past CoP-meetings

E&E CoP Meeting 2005, Bratislava

EE_COP_report_Sept05.doc


1897 Rating: 3.2/5 (33 votes cast)